Short-term let rules in Argyll and Bute (updated 29 Oct 2026)
Last checked: 8 official source pages for this council scanned automatically for changes on 2 Nov 2026What changed
Get an email when the rules here change
Licensing, planning, visitor levy and fees in Argyll and Bute, checked against official sources. Free, unsubscribe any time.
Dates we're watching for Argyll and Bute (1)
- 15 Nov 2026: control area consultation closes
Plus one short weekly UK "what changed" email.
What changed (2 Oct 2026): Argyll and Bute corrects figures in its control area consultation and extends it by two weeks, to 15 Nov 2026. Source · Get free alerts
Consulting (21 Sep to 15 Nov 2026) on a proposed control area for Mull and Iona; Coll and Tiree; Islay, Jura and Colonsay; and Oban, Lorn and the Inner Isles. Not in force. Visitor levy consultation (flat rate per room per night proposed) closed 5 Oct 2026; no decision yet. 3-year licence from £285.30 (home sharing/letting, up to 4 guests) or £398.95 (secondary letting, up to 4 guests).
Licensing or registration
AppliesLicence needed (Scotland-wide). All short-term lets (secondary letting, home letting, home sharing) need a licence from the council before taking bookings or guests. Step-by-step licence guide and checklist. Apply or renew online via the council. The council does not consider temporary exemptions or temporary licences.
Public register of licences on argyll-bute.gov.uk.
Control area / planning
AppliesProposed, not in force: consultation from 21 Sep to 15 Nov 2026 on a control area covering Mull and Iona; Coll and Tiree; Islay, Jura and Colonsay; and Oban, Lorn and the Inner Isles. No control area is designated yet.
The council says outside a control area you don't need proof of planning permission to get a licence, but you must make sure any needed permission is in place; inside a control area, a new change of use of a dwelling to a secondary let would always need planning permission.
New buildings, pods and converted garages or sheds for short-term letting will generally need planning permission.
Visitor levy
AppliesNot approved. The council consulted on a revised draft scheme with a flat rate per room per night (allowed by the Visitor Levy (Amendment) (Scotland) Act 2026).
The consultation closed 5 Oct 2026; findings go to a future council meeting. Proposed amount: not stated on the council page.
Source: source
Fees
3-year licence, same fee for new and renewal applications. Home sharing or home letting: £285.30 (up to 4 guests), £398.95 (5 to 8), £627.40 (9 to 12), £799.15 (13 to 20), £1,027.65 (21 and over).
Secondary letting: £398.95 / £570.60 / £855.95 / £1,141.30 / £1,426.60. Guest capacity includes children under 10.
Transfer £97.20, variation £97.20.
Source: source
Compare Argyll and Bute's licence fees with other Scottish councils
What changed in Argyll and Bute
- Rules on this page last checked in full against the official sources listed above.
- Added a free "Is your licence renewal due?" checker for Scottish short-term let licences: estimates your expiry date and when to start your renewal, with renewal rules from the 1982 Act, Scottish Government guidance and council pages (Highland, Edinburgh, Argyll and Bute, Na h-Eileanan Siar, Angus). Official source
- Argyll and Bute corrects figures in its control area consultation and extends it by two weeks, to 15 Nov 2026. Official source
- Argyll and Bute opens consultation (to 15 Nov 2026) on a proposed short-term let control area covering Mull and Iona; Coll and Tiree; Islay, Jura and Colonsay; and Oban, Lorn and the Inner Isles. Official source
Newest first. Every UK change is in the changes log. Nothing here is legal advice: check the official source before acting.
Scotland tools
- Compare licence fees across all 32 Scottish councils
- How to get a short-term let licence (steps and checklist)
- Business rates or council tax? 140/70 nights checker
- Fire safety for short-term lets (alarms, doors, checklist)
- Insurance: the buildings and public liability licence condition
- Visitor levy map
Not sure what applies to your let? Use the free licence checker: pick your nation, council and type of let for a plain-English answer with the official source.
Buying here? See the buyer checks for Argyll and Bute: licence or registration, planning, visitor levy, business rates or council tax, plus the lender, insurance and title checks to make before you buy.
Key dates
- 21 Sep 2026: control area consultation opened
- 5 Oct 2026: levy consultation closed
- 15 Nov 2026: control area consultation closes
Argyll and Bute short-let rules: quick answers
Do I need a short-term let licence in Argyll and Bute?
Licence needed (Scotland-wide). All short-term lets (secondary letting, home letting, home sharing) need a licence from the council before taking bookings or guests. Step-by-step licence guide and checklist. Apply or renew online via the council. The council does not consider temporary exemptions or temporary licences. Public register of licences on argyll-bute.gov.uk.
Do I need planning permission for a short-term let in Argyll and Bute?
Proposed, not in force: consultation from 21 Sep to 15 Nov 2026 on a control area covering Mull and Iona; Coll and Tiree; Islay, Jura and Colonsay; and Oban, Lorn and the Inner Isles. No control area is designated yet. The council says outside a control area you don't need proof of planning permission to get a licence, but you must make sure any needed permission is in place; inside a control area, a new change of use of a dwelling to a secondary let would always need planning permission. New buildings, pods and converted garages or sheds for short-term letting will generally need planning permission.
Is there a visitor levy (tourist tax) in Argyll and Bute?
Not approved. The council consulted on a revised draft scheme with a flat rate per room per night (allowed by the Visitor Levy (Amendment) (Scotland) Act 2026). The consultation closed 5 Oct 2026; findings go to a future council meeting. Proposed amount: not stated on the council page.
How much does a short-term let licence cost in Argyll and Bute?
3-year licence, same fee for new and renewal applications. Home sharing or home letting: £285.30 (up to 4 guests), £398.95 (5 to 8), £627.40 (9 to 12), £799.15 (13 to 20), £1,027.65 (21 and over). Secondary letting: £398.95 / £570.60 / £855.95 / £1,141.30 / £1,426.60. Guest capacity includes children under 10. Transfer £97.20, variation £97.20.
Answers summarise the sections above. Follow each section's official source before acting.
More council pages in Scotland
All councils in Scotland · All Scotland rules · All councils
Get free rule-change alerts for Argyll and Bute
One email when Argyll and Bute short-let rules change, plus the weekly UK "what changed" email. Free. Unsubscribe any time. Prefer every Scotland change? Get Scotland alerts.