UK Short-Let RulesTracker

Short-term let rules in Perth & Kinross (updated 29 Oct 2026)

Last checked: 6 official source pages for this council scanned automatically for changes on 2 Nov 2026What changed

Get an email when the rules here change

Licensing, planning, visitor levy and fees in Perth & Kinross, checked against official sources. Free, unsubscribe any time.

Dates we're watching for Perth & Kinross (1)
  • 11 Nov 2026: levy consultation closes

Plus one short weekly UK "what changed" email.

What changed (19 Aug 2026): Perth & Kinross opens 12-week consultation on a draft visitor levy. Source · Get free alerts

Licence fees, 3-year licence, new or renewal (Policy Statement, 10 Mar 2025). Secondary letting: £350 (1–2 guests), £530 (3–6), £900 (7–10), £1,600 (11+). Home letting/sharing: £175 / £265 / £450 / £800. Variation or transfer £75. Proposed control area (Highland Perthshire + N. Eastern Perthshire) agreed 17 Jun 2026; Ministers' approval on 12 Oct 2026 reported in planning press (UNVERIFIED); not in force until a designation notice is published. Flats already need planning permission to become a short-term let. Visitor levy: draft scheme with fixed-rate options under consultation 19 Aug to 11 Nov 2026, no decision yet (reported £4 per room per night UNVERIFIED). Public register at pkc.gov.uk/article/22511.

Licensing or registration

Applies

Licence needed (Scotland-wide). All short-term lets (secondary letting, home letting, home sharing) need a licence from the council before taking bookings or guests. Step-by-step licence guide and checklist. Public register at pkc.gov.uk/article/22511.

Source: source source

Control area / planning

Applies

Proposed, not in force: Highland Perthshire and the northern part of Eastern Perthshire, agreed 17 Jun 2026 and sent to Scottish Ministers. The council page (last modified 2 Jul 2026) still says it awaits their response.

Planning press reports Ministers approved it on 12 Oct 2026: UNVERIFIED. Either way, it only takes effect after the council publishes a designation notice with at least 28 days' notice and a start date.

Flats already need planning permission to become a short-term let.

Source: source source

Visitor levy

Applies

Draft scheme with fixed-rate options under statutory consultation from 19 Aug to Wed 11 Nov 2026. No decision yet; Council decides after considering responses. Reported rate of £4 per room per night: UNVERIFIED (not stated on the council page).

Source: source

Fees

3-year licence, new or renewal (Policy Statement, 10 Mar 2025). Secondary letting: £350 (1–2 guests), £530 (3–6), £900 (7–10), £1,600 (11+). Home letting/sharing: £175 / £265 / £450 / £800. Variation or transfer £75.

Source: source

What changed in Perth & Kinross

Newest first. Every UK change is in the changes log. Nothing here is legal advice: check the official source before acting.

Scotland tools

Not sure what applies to your let? Use the free licence checker: pick your nation, council and type of let for a plain-English answer with the official source.

Key dates

Perth & Kinross short-let rules: quick answers

Do I need a short-term let licence in Perth & Kinross?

Licence needed (Scotland-wide). All short-term lets (secondary letting, home letting, home sharing) need a licence from the council before taking bookings or guests. Step-by-step licence guide and checklist. Public register at pkc.gov.uk/article/22511.

Do I need planning permission for a short-term let in Perth & Kinross?

Proposed, not in force: Highland Perthshire and the northern part of Eastern Perthshire, agreed 17 Jun 2026 and sent to Scottish Ministers. The council page (last modified 2 Jul 2026) still says it awaits their response. Planning press reports Ministers approved it on 12 Oct 2026: UNVERIFIED. Either way, it only takes effect after the council publishes a designation notice with at least 28 days' notice and a start date. Flats already need planning permission to become a short-term let.

Is there a visitor levy (tourist tax) in Perth & Kinross?

Draft scheme with fixed-rate options under statutory consultation from 19 Aug to Wed 11 Nov 2026. No decision yet; Council decides after considering responses. Reported rate of £4 per room per night: UNVERIFIED (not stated on the council page).

How much does a short-term let licence cost in Perth & Kinross?

3-year licence, new or renewal (Policy Statement, 10 Mar 2025). Secondary letting: £350 (1–2 guests), £530 (3–6), £900 (7–10), £1,600 (11+). Home letting/sharing: £175 / £265 / £450 / £800. Variation or transfer £75.

Answers summarise the sections above. Follow each section's official source before acting.

All Scotland rules · All councils

Get free rule-change alerts for Perth & Kinross

One email when Perth & Kinross short-let rules change, plus the weekly UK "what changed" email. Free. Unsubscribe any time. Prefer every Scotland change? Get Scotland alerts.

Was this page helpful?

We only use this to improve the site. Privacy